Related Articles

Change Of Guard At Singapore Indian Chamber Of Commerce And Industry

4/17/2018 5:16:36 PM
written By : Team India Se Print

There is a change of guard at the Singapore Indian Chamber of Commerce and Industry (SICCI). A new team led by Dr T Chandroo has won a landslide victory over the team handpicked by Dr R Theyvendran, the outgoing Chairman of the chamber. India Se Media Managing Director Shobha Tsering Bhalla is a member of the new team which has ambitious plans to grow the chamber exponentially.

The new board of directors elected on April 16 will serve till 2020. Noting a drop in SICCI membership in the last four years, the new team in its nine-point election manifesto promised to

  • Reach out to the more than 8,000 Indian companies in Singapore and add at least 2,000 more members in the next two years
  • Continue to place great emphasis on helping small and medium enterprises (SMES) by holding monthly networking events and helping source trade partners and markets
  • Promote trade between Singapore and Asean for the benefit of SICCI members through dialogues with Enterprise Singapore and heads of mission of Asean countries
  • Partner with other chambers of commerce in Singapore to foster strong working relationships with them
  • Promote innovation by matchmaking local Indian business with local tech companies and local businesses with India-based start-ups
  • Promote e-commerce and business through social media and digital platforms
  • Internationalise small and medium enterprises (SMEs) by helping them understand and access government schemes and arranging regular trade missions
  • Increase the number of women members through incentives such as reduced membership fees and  women-centric entrepreneurial and leadership programmes (The team also aims to have 33 per cent of the board comprised of women directors)
  • Set up a committee to implement corporate social responsibility (CSR) and work with social enterprises, non-governmental organisations (NGOs), schools and other educational institutions.

The new board members are

  • Dr T Chandroo, Chairman & CEO of Modern Montessori International Group, Chairman
  • Mr Mahesh Sivaswamy, Chairman & CEO of Transworld Group Singapore, Vice Chairman
  • Mr Prasoon Mukherjee, Chairman of Universal Energy Trading, Vice Chairman
  • Mr Mano C, Founder & Managing Director of Mano Equestrian Services, Honorary Treasurer
  • Mr Kishore Jethanand Daryanani, Managing Director of Ganga Jamuna Electronics Pte Ltd, Board Member
  • Dr Komathy Rajaratnam, Medical Director of The Lifestyle Clinic, Board Member
  • Mr Anil Changaroth, Managing Director (& General Counsel) of ChangAroth Chambers LLC & ChangAroth InterNational Consultancy, Board Member
  • Mr MS Maniam, Founder & CEO of Seagull Pte Ltd, Board Member
  • Mr Parthiban Murugaiyan, Managing Director of Ishtara and Luvenus Jewellery, Board Member
  • Ms Purnima Kamath, Founder & CEO of De Ideaz Pte Ltd, Board Member
  • Mr Nalinkant Amratlal Rathod, Chairman of Solomed Capital Pte Ltd, Chairman of International Advisory Board of Bakrie Group, Board Member
  • Mr Muralikrishnan Rangan, CEO of Print Lab Pte Ltd, Board Member
  • Ms Shobha Tsering Bhalla, Managing Director of India Se Media, Board Member
  • Mr Sridev Mookerjea, Chairman & Managing Director of Blossom Group, CEO of Meranti Alliance Shipping, Managing Director of Global Alliance Shipping, Board Member
  • Mr VS Kumar, Managing Director & Founder of Network Express Courier Services Pte Ltd, Network International Courier Services Pte Ltd, Rapido Distributions Pte Ltd & Premier’s Tea Moods Pte Ltd, Board Member
  • Mr Mandeep Nalwa, Founder & CEO of Taurus Wealth Advisors, Board Member
  • Mr Rajan Bagaria, Founder & President of Marwari Mitra Mandal (Singapore), Founder of the Singapore Pulses Federation Ltd, Board Member
Leave a comment
All Copyrights Reserved @2014 India Se
Engineered by : ZITIMA