Mahathir Sworn In As Malaysia's PM

5/11/2018 1:08:06 AM
written By : Team India Se Print

Dr Mahathir Mohamad was sworn in as Malaysia’s seventh prime minister on May 10 following his stunning election victory over erstwhile prime minister Tun Najib Razzak and the coalition that has ruled the Southeast Asian nation for six decades since independence from Britain. 

It is a triumpjant return to power for Dr Mahathir, 92, the oldest elected leader in the world, who was prime minister also from 1981 to 2003 when he led the ruling United Malays National Organisation (UMNO) - Barisan Nasional coalition which he has now dislodged from power. 

He had to wait for five hours at the palace before Malaysia’s constitutional monarch, Sultan Muhammad V, administered the oath of office just before 10 pm  in a ceremony carried live on state television. 

He was granted an audience with Sultan Muhammad V at 5 pm. But after arriving at the palace, he had to wait until leaders of the four parties in his coalition were interviewed by the king before beng invited to form the government. 

"Istana Negara strongly refutes any allegation that His Majesty... delayed the appointment of Tun Dr Mahathir as Prime Minister," said Controller of the Royal Household Wan Ahmad Dahlan Ab. Aziz. 

The Election Commission has announced that Dr Mahathir's Pakatan Harapan won 113 seats, Barisan Nasional 79, Parti Islam SeMalaysia 18, Warisan eightSolidariti one  and independents three.

Leave a comment
All Copyrights Reserved @2014 India Se
Engineered by : ZITIMA