BJP Leader Sworn In As Karnataka Chief Minister

5/17/2018 12:26:49 PM
written By : Team India Se Print

The Bharatiya Janata Party leader BS Yeddyurappa was sworn in as Karnataka Chief Minister on the morning of May 17 after the Supreme Court, in a rare overnight hearing on a petition by the Congress and the Janata Dal (Secular), refused to stop the ceremony.

The BJP and its allies are now in power in 21 of India’s 29 states and the Congress left with only two states – Punjab and Mizoram – and the Union Territory of Pondicherry after losing control of Karnataka.

The BJP was invited to form the government and given 15 days to prove its majority by the Governor Vajubhai Vala on the evening of May 16. The BJP has 105 lawmakers, including an independent, in the 224-seat Karnataka state assembly and is seven short of majority.

Earlier on May 16, the governor met a delegation of the Congress and Janata Dal (Secular) leaders, who also staked a claim to form the government, claiming they had a majority. The Congress won 78 seats and the Janata Dal (Secular) 37 seats in the state assembly elections. Together they have more than the simple majority of 112 seats needed to form the government. They were given a hearing by the Supreme Court but failed to prevent the BJP leader from being sworn in as chief minister.

"As far as swearing-in is concerned, we are not restraining it, but we are making it subject to the outcome of the case," a three-judge bench, comprising Justices AK Sikri, SA Bobde and Ashok Bhushan, said after the all-night hearing that stretched for three-and-a-half hours.

The Chief Justice of India Dipak Misra had agreed to open the doors of the Supreme Court at around 1 am and constituted a three-judge bench to hear the last-minute petition that asked the judges to stop Mr Yeddyurappa from being sworn in as chief minister.

This is the second time that the Supreme Court held an overnight hearing. The first was in July 2015 when the top court held a 90-minute hearing in the middle of the night to hear a last-minute petition against the execution of Yakub Memon for his role in the 1993 Mumbai blasts case.


Leave a comment
All Copyrights Reserved @2014 India Se
Engineered by : ZITIMA