Related Articles

Singapore's Seventh MRT Line To Open In Phases From 2026

5/9/2018 1:03:14 PM
written By : Team India Se Print

The new Jurong Region Line (JRL), Singapore’s seventh MRT line, will open in three phases starting from 2026, says Transport Minister Khaw Boon Wan.

It will follow the opening of the fully underground, 43 km-long Thomson-East Coast Line, which will open in five stages from 2019. Singapore currently has five MRT lines: the North South Line, East West Line, North East Line, Circle Line and the Downtown Line.

The Jurong Region Line will be 24 km long with 24 stations above ground, the transport minister said. The line will connect with the North-South Line and East-West Line with interchange stations at Choa Chu Kang and Boon Lay.

Speaking during a visit to the worksite of Canberra MRT station on the North-South Line on May 9, Mr Khaw said the Jurong Region Line would help develop the Jurong Lake District into the largest commercial hub outside the Central Business District. The Kuala Lumpur–Singapore high-speed rail is also due to be completed in 2026 when the Jurong Region Line will open.

“Together with the upcoming Kuala Lumpur-Singapore High-Speed Rail, commuters will have convenient connections not just within western Singapore, but also to Malaysia. When all these plans come together, Jurong will be a waterfront business hub nestled in greenery, served by good public transport connections, as well as amenities to support active mobility. This is our vision for Jurong,” he said.


Leave a comment
All Copyrights Reserved @2014 India Se
Engineered by : ZITIMA