Nobel-est Universities

Princeton overtakes Stanford in the number of 21st century Nobel Prize winners

12/1/2016 7:13:21 PM
written By : Staff Reporter Print

Oxford is the world’s best university, topping the 2016-2017 Times Higher Education (THE) World University Rankings. But no one has won the Nobel Prize in physics, chemistry, medicine or economics while teaching or researching at Oxford in the new millennium. Cambridge, fourth in the World University Rankings, has had just one Nobel Prize winner affiliated with it in the new century.

Four of this year’s Nobel Prize winners – Oliver Hart (economics), David Thouless, Duncan Haldane and Michael Kosterlitz (physics) – are Cambridge alumni, but all of them are affiliated with American universities: Hart with Harvard, Thouless with the University of Washington in Seattle, Haldane with Princeton, and Kosterlitz with Brown. Bengst Holmstrom, the joint economics prize winner, is affiliated with the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT).

Americans and American universities dominate the list of Nobel Prize winners in physics, chemistry, medicine and economics. The Times Higher Education reports 72 of the 134 Nobel Prize winners in these categories since the year 2000 are Americans. Several are naturalised Americans like the British-born Hart, Haldane and Kosterlitz who all became American citizens. 

Leave a comment
All Copyrights Reserved @2014 India Se
Engineered by : ZITIMA